I hope I am not graded on these 11 questions…

 

I was recently tagged by the beautiful blogger PM (http://prinsesamusang.wordpress.com/) to answer some questions of hers, and so, without further ado, here are my responses!

1. You have to give up one part of your body: brain or heart? Pick in the context of the debate mind vs. heart or right vs. kind in making decisions.

WHAT? What kind of question is this? You don’t ask a soporific romantic a question the likes of this one! No! No! I would love to say ‘I refuse to answer on the grounds that this is unjustly wrong!’; I would love to, but I know how you want your answer PM!

Okay, let’s think about this for a second; by giving up the heart, hypothetically, you are suggesting that I will not be allowed to love, ever again; I will not be able to experience love; feel love or respond to such an emotion if anyone was (un)lucky enough to fall in love with me. However, on the plus side, I’d be incredibly intelligent as I would be empowered with the mind. Decisions would come unbelievably easily to me as no longer would I be concerned with the emotional ramifications of any potential choice. I would therefore be an intellectual, albeit, emotionless zealot.

On the other hand, if I give up the brain, I’d be rendered an insufferable idiot, incapable of articulating even the simplest of decisions. However, I would be empowered with the power of love and would be able to successfully feel such an emotion without the bounds of intellect. I could fall in love extremely easily – which would be as much of a curse as it would be a potential gift. The brain after all helps one make decisions in regards to romantic endeavours and indeed on occasion assists the individual in not making a total fool of themselves.

Okay, moment of truth; what’ll it be? Brian, heart? Brain, heart? Brain, heart? Brain, heart? Brain, heart? Brain, heart? Brian, heart? Brain, heart? Brain, heart? Brain, heart?

Okay, here’s a twist – I’ll go with the brain. Goodbye heart!

I’ll be an emotionless zealot, yes, but I will never again feel the agonising pain of heartbreak. On occasion, romance is overrated. Relationships fail; lovers leave; the brain is always there, and therefore is the one muscle that can always be relied upon (unless you’re attempting to complete an exam – then it apparently shuts down).

So, there you have it PM, your answer to question no. 1! I did not enjoy answering that particular question, so, just for that reason, and although this may seem immature and vulgar, please imagine me sticking my tongue out at you right now. (For the record, my tongue is long and forked).

2. Fictional characters are great! Would you rather be the hero or the villain in the greatest story ever told?

The villain, absolutely, hands down! If the option was available though, I would choose the anti-hero over the villain.

Heroes often fail and are forgotten to time; villains are forever.

3. Smart and ugly or gorgeous and dumb?

Some people already think I’m smart and ugly, so I’ll just go with that option. Besides, I would never wish to sacrifice intellect for something as cheesy as some moderately good looks. Besides, good looks are overrated. True, a good lookin’ person is easy on the eyes and never will one become bored of looking at them, but without the intelligence or personality to back up the physically perfect form, where is the reason to stay together?

4. Yes or No: becoming a parent and having kids.

I don’t know if I am mature enough to answer this question for you PM. I’m only 23 after all, and although some people do have children when they are in their teens, I have not thought much on the subject of children. As a woman PM, I believe you would have thought more about children than I, as women are after all the members of the human species who give birth to the future populations.
For the moment I will say no. I do not have time for children or a family. However, as I mature, acquire additional economic sustenance and become older, I may very well change my answer. Watch this space PM; watch this space.

5. Yes or No: divorce.

Apologies PM; I do not understand the question. Are you asking ‘do I believe divorce to be an acceptable aspect of society?’ or are you asking ‘would you consider divorce if you were in an unhealthy marriage?’ Just in case, I will answer both of these questions.

Yes, I believe that if two people are in an unhealthy marriage, they should split. Besides, divorce is so common these days that I personally believe many people have simply become indoctrinated into believing divorce to be socially acceptable, even though there was a time when nobody (in the western world that is) would consider what was thought to be a heinous occurrence.

Yes, I would divorce someone that I was unhappily married to. There is a stigma to this response though; unlike most people I have happened to bump into over the last few years, I don’t believe in one night stands; I believe in relationships.
In my opinion, if you choose to be with someone; if you fall madly in love with them; then you cannot have eyes for anyone else. When I fall in love with someone, this has always been the case with me – I have not had eyes for any other woman whilst there was a certain young lady in my life. Basically, if I was to marry someone, my intention would be to stay married to them until I officially ended up on my back, with my arms and legs in the air. So, unless the woman I married turned out to be a wraith or something – I can’t imagine why I would consider divorcing them.

6. You are about to do the one best thing that you have always wanted to do ever. What stops you from taking the plunge: your personal fear of failing or your fear of judgment from others?

PM, this question is irrelevant. If I was about to accomplish the one best thing that I had always wanted to do, there is not one thing in the universe that could stop me from succeeding.

Okay, hypothetically; just say my goal was to…fly to the Philippines, find out where you lived and say, to your face ‘PM, I did not like some of your questions.’ Then, upon completion of said goal, fly back home to Australia. I know, sounds kind of dumb, but, bear with me. My point, is that if this was my major goal, there is nothing that could stop me from accomplishing it.

However, if I was to do something a little less important than ‘the best thing that you have always wanted to do ever’, my personal fear of failing would be why I would not accomplish that particular task.

7. For one day, you get to spend the day with this famous person. Will you pick your favourite athlete, your favourite musician, your favourite author or your favourite actor?

Favourite actress actually darling, favourite actress. Never know; she might fall madly in love with me and later still we may end up married. Ah, a man can dream can he not; can a man not dream?

8. Yes or No: watching cartoons until your ridiculous old age now. (Admit it )

I can say, with absolute certainty – no. Not 24/7 at least, but in moderation, why the hell not, eh?

9. The unfortunate has struck: your lover is dying. You are faced with this option: donate your vital organ to save him or her and die yourself while he or she lives without you or let your lover die without doing anything?

PM, if the woman I loved most was dying, there is not a single thing I would not sacrifice to get her back, even if that means forfeiting my own life.

However, I find the notion that my lover will, in perhaps three years time be married to another man with children to be a little disconcerting. This may not be the scenario that you concocted in your question, but it is indeed the scenario that will come to fruition.

Now, I realise I have been quite serious throughout this particular question thus far, however, I am now going to be contradictory and become a little obscene and vulgar; your vital organ may be your heart PM, but mine is not. I will give you three guesses as to what mine is, but you will only need one. If my lover was dying, why would she need my particular vital organ, when women do not have that particular appendage?

10. Yes or No: death penalty.

Do I believe in the death penalty? Do I believe it is an adequate punishment? Yes; yes I do. In Australia, the death penalty was cancelled in I do believe 1967? (Don’t quote me on this). The crime of the last man executed in Australia (he was hung) was as follows; he orchestrated a prison break out, and during this, a guard was shot and killed. Now, according to many sources, the executed man was not the man who shot the guard; however, because he instigated the break out, he was blamed because if he had not broken out with some other prisoners, then the guard would never have been killed. It was theorised that some believed at the time the execution was unnecessary, and so it was disbanded because such a punishment was rarely used, even then.

However, in Australia today it seems very much as though crime is unchecked. I mean, just looking at the paper today I can list several heinous crimes right off the first couple pages;
-a teenage girl, gang raped after leaving party
-man shot dead in CBD
-armoured truck attacked by gunman
-stabbing death in suburbs
-pregnant woman killed in hit and run
-young man assaulted in bar fight

My point is this; many people who deserved to live are killed; many people who deserve to live a good life are forced to endure a horrific one; and many people who deserve to die live to cause more death and destruction. The punishment fits the crime in my book, and if there was a referendum tomorrow in regards to the death penalty, I would vote for it to be reinstated; if not for the reason that some deserve to die, then for the reason to keep our streets safer.

11. At a huge crossroad in your life, a decision has to be made which will alter the course of your freaking life. What do you do? Do you take the ridiculous way or the safe way to go about it?

‘Your freaking life’? Quite a phrase PM, quite a phrase indeed.

Can you define ridiculous? What, do I rip off my clothes and run up and down the street screaming insanities before finding myself with a one way ticket to the local funny farm?

Seriously PM, I will probably take the safe approach. If this decision is going to affect the course of my existence, then I would rather not jeopardise my future by doing anything, as you said, ridiculous.

 

Well, there you have it PM! I do not know if these were what you were after, but they are my questions just the same.

Thanks for the questions PM, although I cannot wait to get you back with some questions of my own! HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA, HA!

4 comments on “I hope I am not graded on these 11 questions…

  1. are you threatening me, mr. childs? well let’s just hope another meme comes your way so you can throw it to my face as retaliation. but the question is, will you win over me? feel free to speculate.

    i enjoyed reading this post. you’ve done exactly what i wanted and it’s great. thank you. however, i must admit, while reading, several times i felt that you wanted to send a roundhouse kick at me. 😆 good job, very well done indeed. now i’m not going to comment on any of your answers but i imagine if i’m required, it’ll be a mighty interesting conversation.

    • Appreciate the comment PM. Also, inquire away if you wish about the answers; I am an open book.
      Now, I will admit (although I cannot speak on behalf of your other lucky nominees) that I felt as though I was pushed into a corner by your questions. I often see things in shades of grey, and your requirement was either a ‘yes’ or a ‘no’ response; either one answer, or another, and, with regards for instance to the initial question, that would have been something that I normally would not have enjoyed answering. But, since it was you…
      Don’t get me wrong, they were good questions PM; you must have put quite a fair bit of thought into them. But next time, a little freedom perhaps? We people are free spirits after all ma’am.
      Also, I would not send a roundhouse kick to you – it might hurt. If you are hurt, then you do not blog, if you do not blog, then whose posts am I going to read? If I have no posts to read, then I’ll become Jack Terrance, and I don’t think anyone wants that.
      Again, thank you for considering me for the questions PM. Cheers!

  2. Some interesting questions there. I will give some of my own answers somewhat quick-ish. Ahem, #3, smart and ugly. Good looks are indeed overrated, and they often don’t last. Likewise, I may choose my brain in #1. I like emotions, but I don’t want to be dumb. Plus, I’ll get to be all logical like Spock. #2, well, thinking of morality, I’d have to choose hero, but if I were to just answer what would be most fun, villain. Villains are always my favorite characters, and all that power is appealing. How about this? I’ll be the villain, which will be fun, then I’ll turn good at the end. Kind of a compromise. #10, death penalty? Yes. Good people die or have horrible things happen, while bad people are protected. Society cares more about justice for the criminals than the innocent people. How is that fair? I did a little research on that matter once, and looking at various criminals, several people committed on average 18 crimes each. Let’s just put an end to it, already. Seriously. Just a comment about #4. Good thing it’s not an option between becoming a parent or having kids. That would have been confusing.

Leave a Reply

