Acquiring yet another blogger award, Derek learns his ABC’s whilst listening to ‘Poison Arrow’ and ‘Look of Love’

sylverblaque-abc-award3

 

That’s right folks, another award was just sent my way! This is the first time I have been nominated for the ABC award, and much thanks and appreciation goes out to Elaine of ‘Our Consciousness’ (http://ourconsciousness.wordpress.com/) for this nomination.

I always enjoy award nominations and memes; maybe not so much this time, as the ABC award appears to be as much of a curse as it is a gift. As with all awards on WordPress, there are rules, and the ABC award is no exception, having only one attachment; presume everyone knows their alphabet? Well, long story short, for every letter of the alphabet, one needs to write down a word which relates back to them and their life, and give a brief reason as to why.

So, why is this a curse I hear you ask? Well, after you stare blankly at your screen for a few hours, attempting to wonder what words you could possibly use, I think you will begin to slowly understand.

Anyway, on with the award! Here are my responses!

Autumn: the month I like the most. Not too hot, but at the same time not too cold. I used to say ‘Spring’, but last year my hay fever became so bad that one day when I happened to sneeze, my head fell off and started to roll down a really steep hill. Took me weeks to hunt the little bastard down before placing it safely back atop of my neck.
Aayla Secura: the woman of my dreams. Unfortunately she died a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away.

Bioware: the designers of my favorite video game Mass Effect, which spawned two amazing sequels. These campaigns were absolutely fantastic!

Castle: my favorite television show on TV at the moment.

Danger: My middle name. Not really.
Daughtry: One of my favorite bands formed in the past ten years.

Early: I always enjoy being, as the word suggests, early! I have never, not once in my life being late for any job, appointment or class.

F***: my single most beloved profanity of all time. I am not going to write it down because I am attempting to keep this post ‘PG’. For anyone under the age of 12 who happens to read this post, the word in question is ‘Fudge’. Honest!
FCUK: This is in no relation to the above word. I know, I have two ‘F’ words, and that may be considered against the rules. Also, I can spell my favorite profanity – this is French Connection UK; they make some of my favorite eau de toilette’s.

Geography: The one thing I will never properly master. If you are ever lost, here’s some advice for you – never consult me for directions! I once became lost in my own home whilst making my way from my front door to my bedroom.

Halo: the video game series which contains my favorite multiplayer modes and maps of any other franchise.

Icehouse: Quite possibly my favorite Australian band. Crazy, electric blue, great southern land, Jimmy Dean, man of colours, amongst many others are some of their top songs, found on their eighties albums Primitive Man and Man of Colours.

Jason: my middle name. This time I am not fooling around either. ‘Derek Jason Childs’ I hear you say. Not quite. If you survive to read more of this post, you may find there is something else happening with my name.

Keeping Fit (and staying in shape): I often work out and frequently do exercise. I am so incredibly muscular (not really) and in pretty good shape (perhaps). I am in such good shape, I once lifted a car right over my head. If you look really closely at the photographic evidence, you might just spot the word ‘Hot Wheels’ beneath the vehicle.

‘Losing my mind’: the title of one of Daughtry’s singles on their 2011 album ‘Break the Spell.’ Of all the songs on this album, this is one of the few that I was able to relate the most towards.

Masters: this year I am beginning my Masters course at university. Does not necessarily mean I will grow up to become the master. After watching those Doctor Who episodes with Jon Pertwee in which the Master was always thwarted, I don’t exactly know if I’d ever want to be one.

Nicholas: my official first name. ‘Derek’ is a pseudonym that I use for online purposes; a bit like Clark Kent and Superman, except I wear my underpants beneath my pants, not the other way around.

One: the last time I saw this number, it was the result on my IQ test. (Only kidding) Or am I?
Oakey Doakey:
an expression I use a little too often. It just pops out whenever I am acknowledging something. Quite annoying actually.
October: yes, another ‘O’! This is my birthday month, so it is a must for this list. If you do not like it, please, take it up with the administrator. Actually don’t, pretty please!

Petit Miams: When I was younger (between 2 and 5) I used to eat these small yoghurt canisters all the time. Might be why I have bones of steel.
Promulgate: yes, another ‘P’ word. Promulgate is one of my favorite words. I often insert it into pieces whenever I can. Yes, I know, I have broken the rules, again! However, I don’t go by the username ‘Naughty Nefarious’ because I am nice and sweet – I do so because I’m a regular bad boy, and so, I do very bad things; I swear (a lot), I never clean my room, and I refuse to eat my broccoli.

Quiz: the scariest word in the English language. I hate quizzes and I absolutely loath tests.

Reading: something I used to do quite regularly, but not so much anymore, which is ironic because I’m an editor. However, since I’m resuming study at university in just a few hours, it will be my mandate once more to read, whether I want to or not.

Sleep: the one thing I never seem to get enough of. Managed to grab about three hours of it last night – new all time high score.
Sesquipedalian: I know, I broke the rules (again) but you see, I had to. Most definitely! This word here, perfectly describes me.

Technology: my mortal adversary. John Connor is so yesterday. In the future, I will lead the heroic Tech-comm. resistance to victory against the villainous Skynet. MARK MY WORDS!

University: The educational institution I am currently attending as to better my occupational qualifications.

Video Games: My greatest hobby in all the universe. Often I need to be physically dragged away from a gaming console as to ensure that any work is done and that my priorities are kept in check.

Women: the great mystery of the universe, whom I shall never understand.

Xbox: the game console that in my opinion blows all of its competition away.

You: my audience, that read the whacky words of this blog. Without you guys, I would not be blogging today. Well, I would be, but nobody would be paying attention. So please, give yourselves a clap on the back, because I cannot do so. Well, I could, but that would be stalkerish and wrong.

Zen and Peace: Two things I have been denied for the majority of my life.

Here are my nominations for the award:

All World Issues
http://allworldissues.com/

Cerulean Skies
http://nelsville.wordpress.com/

Impressions of a Princess
http://gongjumonica.wordpress.com/

Reviews and Rants
http://mandarox.wordpress.com/

Zen
http://zenscribbles.wordpress.com/

Okay! Thank you again to Elaine for the award!

Cheers! Have a great day!

11 comments on “Acquiring yet another blogger award, Derek learns his ABC’s whilst listening to ‘Poison Arrow’ and ‘Look of Love’

  1. Pingback: Eleven: You Asked, I Answered, Now Suffer | Prinsesa's Anatomy

  2. i tagged you with the liebster on my blog not because i want to give you an award 😆 but because i want to hear your answers. give them a go?

    • Oh, so I’m not worth an award now, eh? 😀 I’ll give your questions a go PM! (groan!) However you may have to wait until Wednesday for the answers because in a couple hours I am going to become the busiest man in the southern hemisphere (well, not really, but I’m sure you get my drift young lady!). Thanks for the nomination, I think (?). Take care!

  3. Congrats on the award! And thanks for the nomination. This sounds like fun, though I’m having trouble thinking of words for some letters… I may have to steal some of yours. 😉

  4. Pingback: From A to Z. | Zen Scribbles

  5. Your answers were quite entertaining. (But, you seem to be mistaken. The PS2 is the greatest console in the world. Nay, the universe.) Even though I have not received the award, I am tempted to make a nice list of words myself. Just because.

    You’re a “Dr. Who” fan then? I’ve been watching a lot of that lately (which caused me to try Jammie Dodgers, which I wanted to like, but didn’t). You know what’s funny, is there is the Doctor and the Master, which makes me think of degrees. But, no one would want to be called the Associate or the Bachelor, would they? That would just be silly. Actually, as names of degrees, they’re silly. What in the world is a Bachelor of Science? A single man that’s good at science? Sorry, rambling.

    • As always, I appreciate your comment! I however must apologise, because I am here to regretfully inform you that you are mistaken. The XBOX360 is the best console in the world. The games on the XBOX I have always found to be more mature than those on the PS systems which often have more child appropriate games. Also, another great thing about XBOX; Halo. Never has there been a love story quite like Derek Childs and his Halo.
      However, I do agree with you about the titles. Master sounds incredibly awesome. As an example, you could have Godzilla, the master of destruction! If it were Godzilla the doctor of deconstruction, that wouldn’t sound quite so powerful…
      Again, thank you for the comment! Oh, and good luck with the list! 😀

  6. Pingback: The Duck Masters the ABC’s | The Duck of Indeed

Leave a Reply

