Hey Ma! Good news! Apparently, I’m a Liebster Blogger!

liebster-award

I would like to thank Reviews and Rants (http://mandarox.wordpress.com/) for the Liebster Blogger award. Really appreciate it.

So, let’s get cracking!

Apparently, there are four rules when receiving this award…Question – do you really think there is a person out there whose mandate it is to ensure these rules are followed? I don’t think we’re gonna suddenly find ourselves locked up in a cell if we don’t follow one of the rules, are we?

1: Thank the person who awarded you the Liebster award and link back to their page

2: Answer the eleven questions your nominator has developed. Post eleven random facts about yourself, and then develop a further eleven questions for eleven nominees who have 200 followers or less (this rule I broke. Some of my nominees do fit the requirement, but most of my followers/people I am following are awesome and have hundreds of thousands of followers – but I enjoy what they write so I gave it to them anyway. I know, I’m a horrible person! I ought to be purged from society!)

3: Alert your eleven nominees of the award

4: Post the award on your site

Now, for the 11 questions I was asked:

One: If you could choose between knowing every language fluently or being able to play every instrument perfectly, which would you choose?

I used to be in a band, however, I have not played an instrument in what feels like a lifetime, and I don’t at present own any instrument. My point is that learning how to meticulously play every instrument would be rather pointless for me at present.
On the other hand, when I was younger, I used to have this avid fascination that I would like to perhaps be some kind of secret agent when I was older (the mind of a child is often a delusional thing – in my case at least), and one way to be an expert spy with a licence to kill would be to expertly know every language in the world to actively assimilate into alternate cultures and communicate with professional affiliates to avoid suspicion and ensure successful promulgation of the mission.

Two: What’s the best book you’ve ever read? Alternately, if you don’t read, what’s the best movie you’ve ever seen? Or answer both, if you want.

Believe it nor not, my favourite book may very well be the short story anthologies by Andrew Daddo. Upon reading his short story collections, these really helped inspire me to want to write my own pieces of short fiction, and additionally, the general life issues which his central character Fergus experienced seemed, at the time, relatable to what had transpired in my life.
Moreover, my favourite film would have to be not just one, but a collection of six feature films; the Star Wars franchise.

Three: What animal would you say you’re most like?

It would probably be a toss-up between a clam and a shark. Now true, I’m not as strong as shark (but there was that one time when I lifted a car right over my head (it was a Hot Wheels Sedan)), but like the stereotypical shark, I am often happy with my own company and I have the tendency to also become quite vicious when provoked.
Moreover, I’m like a clam because on occasion I am an open book – but more often than not I am closed – indefinitely.

Four: What type of music do you listen to? Rock, orchestral, pop? And who’s your favourite band/composer/singer?

I genuinely listen to pop and rock, and I especially enjoy music from the eighties. My favourite singer of all time would have to be Don Henley. Ever since I heard his song ‘Boys of Summer’ back in the mid nineties on the radio I have had a fascination with the music he used to perform. All of his songs are about life and love, but deep down they have entrenched themes of other varieties, which include political agendas and views and values that he held dear.
My second favourite band, btw, would probably be Daughty, because many of their songs not only have amazing use of instruments, but additionally, the messages in some of the songs are not only powerful, but very easy to relate towards.

Five: What’s your favourite thing about yourself?

I could answer this, but there might be children listening in.

Six: Do you have any pets? If so, what are they? If not, do you want any?

In the past I have had a cat (Simba) and a dog (Sheena), but not at the moment, no. I have considered bringing another pet into my life, however I have had my heart broken many times already over the past few years without deliberately entering into a relationship where I will eventually have to say goodbye to my best and most treasured friend. Eventually I’ll be ready for such a commitment, but not today.

Seven: What would you prefer; money or love?

Well, money would be advantageously beneficial, no doubt about that; yes indeed, yummy, yummy! However, funnily enough, I’m probably going to go with love. Why’s it funny? Well, I’m not saying anything here that I haven’t before; I haven’t’ had a girlfriend in three years and to be perfectly honest with you I have actually become quite accustomed to, you know, being sad and alone. In fact, I’ve become so accustomed to the loneliness that I have gone so far as to plan accordingly in case I spend the rest of my life like this. But even with that said, love is the preference that I’ll choose. Without love, people in general are incapable of feeling pleasurably positive emotions, and so become void, zealous monsters. Now, I could have all the money in the world, but it wouldn’t help me emotionally, and I have an idea of what kind of monster I’d turn out to be without positive emotions in my life, and I’d probably make the Hulk look like a choir boy, so, yeah, long story short, going with love.

Eight: What’s your favourite quote?

I have always feared the day when someone far more intelligent than I would develop this question for me to answer. I do not have a favourite quote; not from any revered historic individual, nor from a fictional text.

Nine: What is/was your favourite and least favourite subject at school? Why?

My favourite subject in high school would have been English, especially my year twelve class. I found the subject to be very entertaining because although we were in our final year, the class seemed a lot more open and fun than before, and we were able to explore many different avenues in our studies that had previously not been open to us.
My least favourite subject would had to have been mathematics, hands down. In year eight, the subject began to deteriorate into algebra and other complicated equations which I am unable to process.

Ten: Why did the chicken cross the road?

Well, if the chicken happens to be like any of the women I have asked out over the past three years, it did so to get away from me as fast as it possibly could, before running, in the words of an old limerick, over the hills and far away.

Eleven: If you had one day to live, what would you spend it doing?

To anyone reading this answer – prepare to be very disappointed! If I had only one day left in my life’s calendar, I’d probably spend it playing video games. At least when I croaked, I’d do so doing something that I enjoyed.

Now, for the eleven random facts about myself:

–          I live in Melbourne Australia, although come to think of it, I’m pretty sure I mention this in my ‘about’ section (you can just tell I’m dragging the bottom of the barrel here, I really haven’t the foggiest what to write!).

–          In 2012 I completed my undergraduate Bachelor of Communication course, majoring in Professional Writing at Victoria University. This year I am commencing my Masters degree at Melbourne University, majoring in Creative Writing, Publishing and Editing.

–          Been the avid video-gamer that I am, this year there are several titles I intend to buy over the course of the coming year, including Aliens: Colonial Marines, Crysis 3, Gears of War Judgment, Bioshock Infinite, Fuse, Remember Me, and perhaps (if the following three games are released in the coming year) Destiny, Doom 4 and Singularity 2.

–          Although a lot of people I follow on WordPress enjoy reading as a pastime, I have not read for fun since I was fifteen years old. At the time I began to read books mandatory for my course, and the additional surplus of homework began to get to me. My infatuation with video games took over many of my other hobbies, and the requirements of work, along with keeping fit whilst attempting to maintain a social life inevitably left me with little time to read and at the end something just had to give.
On top of this I began to write more often, beginning with short story collections and then into novels (although none have ever been published), and I began to focus more so on developing my own books rather than reading the works of more talented writers than myself. Many people could have potentially worked around this schedule – apparently, I ain’t one of ‘em.

–          My favorite gaming platform is the XBOX 360. I find the controller and the general graphical performance of games on the system to be far more impressive than the other available platforms. I used to be a regular PC man myself, but since the system basically requires you to update it every couple years if you wish to keep playing games, it seemed too much of a hassle. I still have a computer (purchased back at the start of 2011) but I do not use it as often as I used to.

–          I frequently change the hair style on both my face and atop of my head. I have grown my hair long, I have had it average and I’ve even gone skinhead. I have additionally dyed my hair on several occasions, and have used almost every colour you can imagine (besides pink, black and brown (pink is not stereotypically a masculine colour, and my hair is naturally dark, so using darkened dye is worthless)). As for my face, I have grown a beard, a moustache, chops, and currently have a moustache and goatee.

–          -I prefer written communication rather than oral, and if given the opportunity to e-mail a certain someone, I would rather do that than communicate in person or over the phone. It’s not that I’m anti-social, but for some reason I have always been better at conveying my message literally than I ever have verbally.

–          In the past I have travelled to America, and have temporarily holidayed in Los Angeles, New York, Washington DC and Hawaii. Closer to home; I have travelled to New Zealand, and have additionally been to Sydney and Brisbane.

–          When it comes to geography, I am absolutely pathetic. Whatever you do, do not ever ask me for directions, I once became lost making my way from my front door to my bedroom.

–          I have, and continue to work part time as an editor and proofer.

–          Since I was fifteen years of age I have had to endure some kind of insomnia (I don’t really know what the professionals call it) and I only manage to acquire a couple hours of sleep every night. Hell, some nights I don’t even sleep at all. Can on occasion be a little disconcerting.

The eleven questions for my nominees:

Question One: If you wish to share, please, explain why you chose to originally begin blogging?

Question Two: Is there someone that you admire? A family member; a friend; a celebrity; a member of government; a notable historical individual, et al? Who is this certain someone, and what is it about them that you admire?

Question Three: Say you are going on a trip – could be for business; could be a vacation – entirely your prerogative. Apart from your clothes and any other obvious personnel utensils necessary for trips and such, what are some of the things that you personally cannot go anywhere without?

Question Four: You are suddenly bestowed with the ability to become, for an entire week, a character of your choice, from any book, film, television series or theatrical production. Who do you choose to become, what will you do over the course of the week, and why?

Question Five: Hypothetically, imagine a unique contagion has spread across the world. The next thing you eat, whether it be a chocolate bar or a piece of broccoli; a slice of meat or a piece of pie; you will inevitably turn into this piece of food. For instance, just say you ate a chocolate bar – a few hours later you will turn into a life sized bar of chocolate; however, you will still retain your head, arms and legs. For dignity’s purposes, you can still wear clothes – although I don’t know how a person who ate a spider will go attempting to fit into a pair of trousers. Now, there is no cure, so you will remain as this piece of food for the rest of your life.
You eat something, not knowing of the contagious viral outbreak. What do you eat? Hypothetically, why did you make this choice?
For those who are daring, on top of the prescribed question above, not only are you turned into a piece of food, but you can only eat food from the group that you have become. For instance, a person turned into a piece of fruit, can only eat fruit. A person turned into a vegetable, can only eat vegetables. A person who becomes a potato chip can only eat potatoes, salt and artificial preservatives. A person who becomes a block of chocolate can only eat chocolate, dairy and sugar. If you don’t eat from these food groups – well let’s just say that is not in the rules! (tee hee!) Do you maintain your original choice in what food you eat and inevitably become, or have you changed your mind? If so, what do you wish to become instead and why?

Question Six: Do you play video games? (I am not talking about Angry Birds here; I’m talking about First Person Shooters, Third Person Action Games, Real Time Strategy, Role Playing Games and Massive Multiplayer Online, etc). If not, do you understand the world of video games? Do you understand why many men have an avid fascination with gaming, or do you think gaming in general is a stupid and immature waste of time and money?

Question Seven: A vile antagonist just insulted you! That rat bastard! How do your proceed? Do you walk away, avoiding the situation altogether and hope nothing more comes of it? Do you calmly attempt to deescalate the situation by explaining to the individual that you do not wish for there to be any confrontation? Or do you clench your fist and bonk this person on the nose, making Chuck Norris look like the second greatest action hero in comparison to you? Perhaps you could do a combination of all three? Or perhaps you have an alternate suggestion? What are your thoughts? Or you could always avoid this question entirely because the man who wrote it is obvious deranged.

Question Eight: Is there one country you have not travelled to yet but really wish to see? What is this country and why do you wish to go there? What might you do over the course of your stay there?

Question Nine: After a huge economic recession, you find that the only job you are able to acquire is at a touring circus. However, life ain’t all bad because you quickly discover that you have a unique talent. What is this talent of yours, and what stage name will you go by to market yourself during the show?

Question Ten: Do you know any good jokes? Do you care to share the funniest joke that you know?

Question Eleven: It’s Monday morning. You get up, have breakfast, get dressed, brush your teeth and enjoy a stereotypically natural experience at work. Upon arriving back home later that day, you discover a peculiar triangular shaped gift wrapped in sparkling purple wrapping paper has been left for. Before you even have the opportunity to open the strange and unexpected present, you hear a tapping at the door, and move towards the front entrance, with your present in tow, to see who it could be. Opening the door, you look upon who was gently tapping. ‘Oh my’ you say…Who is at the door, and what is it they require? Better yet, what is inside that oddly shaped package?

Special Bonus Question (cuz you’re awesome and you know it): Do you often spend your time answering ridiculous questions like these, or is this strictly a one off occasion?

My eleven nominees (in alphabetical order)

Brittany
http://allworldissues.com/

Domestic Majestic
http://agirlsguidetoagamerguy.wordpress.com/

Michele Seminara
http://micheleseminara.wordpress.com/

Ms. Jodi Ambrose
http://jodiambroseblog.com/

Our Consciousness
http://ourconsciousness.wordpress.com/

PM
http://prinsesamusang.wordpress.com/

Songs of Serendipity
http://songsofserendipity.wordpress.com/

The Asphalt Journal
http://theasphaltjournal.wordpress.com/

Tiger Groves
http://tigergroves.wordpress.com/

Valarie
http://valerieloveswriting.wordpress.com/

Zen Scribbles!
http://zenscribbles.wordpress.com/

Again, thank you to Reviews and Rants (http://mandarox.wordpress.com/) for the Liebster Blogger award.

Have a great weekend!

Cheers!

17 comments on “Hey Ma! Good news! Apparently, I’m a Liebster Blogger!

  1. Pingback: Thangs | our consciousness

  2. Congrats on (and thank you for) the award! I too enjoyed reading your answers. You’ll think me odd but math was one of my favourite subjects at school! Also, your questions are fantastic. I already accepted this award before, but since you put so much thought into them I’ll answer them here. At the moment I’m running out of time, but I will come back to this post!

  3. Here you go. 🙂

    1. Not going to lie, I started as a way to promote my book and writings. It gradually became a fun thing for me to do though.
    2. Hmmm. At the risk of sounding like everyone else, I do admire JKR, if only because of her absolutely amazing imagination. I would love to produce something half as good as Harry Potter.
    3. My phone, of course. I can’t go without my laptop or at least my tablet either. Of course I need to pack a few books with me, and some treats to eat on my way to my destination. 🙂
    4. That question is always so difficult for me! But I think probably Hermione Granger. I do like Harry and Ron, but I can relate more to Hermione, the bookworm and the teacher’s pet. It would be nice to be able to do magic, and do it perfectly well at that!
    5. I don’t think this will come as a surprise, but I want to be a chocolate bar! And yes, I would maintain my choice even fully knowing I’d have to eat chocolate all the time, simply because it’s my absolute favourite thing to eat, and I would be driven over the edge if I’m unable to eat it for the rest of my life. I need my fix.
    6. I don’t think gaming is stupid, and I did play video games before when I had more time, namely Dungeon Seige, Tekken and Crash Bandicoot. Bit old school, but these three are my favourite games, haha.
    7. At one point in time I used to bonk the antagonist, but I’ve learned to control my temper since then! These days I just purse my lips together or glare at them, then turn my back and walk away.
    8. Two countries – Japan and UK. Japan has always been an object of fascination for me because of my love for anime. I think it would be interesting to go and see what the country that produces my favourite shows is like. UK… well, I don’t know, it has always felt like such a lovely place, and the British always feel so quaint and proper. I dunno. xD
    9. Ooh. Well, in that case I’m an aerialist. That is one segment of the show that I’ve always loved. It’s so beautiful! As for a stage name… well, um… I’m really not sure, haha.
    10. Not really, I’m afraid. =[ I’m terrible at jokes.
    11. Since I’m in a romantic mood, I will say that the triangular shape is a chocolate heart (it only looks triangular because it wasn’t wrapped up properly), and the person at the door is my fiance, with whom I’m in a long-distance relationship. A girl can dream!
    Bonus – I sometimes do! They can be really fun, and I like it when the questions make me prod into my thoughts. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Liebster Award | our consciousness

  5. i read this the first time you posted it and enjoyed your answers. i remember i was at the airport then having a leisurely breakfast. i’ll get back to you. you didn’t pass this to me just because you know i like memes right? 😆

  6. Congrats on the award! When I got this award, I, too, broke the rules, by nominating the wrong number of people with the wrong number of followers. I am going to answer some questions myself now. (You ask some really hard ones. I’ll never be able to decide on #5.) If I had a day to live, I would play video games, also. I would play “Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy”. I don’t even know what it is, but I adore that game. Obviously, yes I do play video games (I have never, ever played “Angry Birds”…), and I do know they are not a waste of time. And I don’t care if they are, either. Fine, I waste my time. And I’m not ashamed. And the chicken crossed the road because I find them delicious. Even though, I may just follow it across the road.

    • Again Duck of Indeed thank you for the comment! I appreciate you taking the time to read my content! Really interesting answers and ideas brought up in your comment! Cheers! 😀

Leave a Reply

