As black as night & as sweet as true beauty

 

I had not planned on writing another post for a couple more days (because I am at the moment editing a 212 page manuscript, sigh!), but it seems that I have been called out from my temporary hiatus.

A fellow blogger, Miss. Zen Scribbles (whose blog can be found at this here link: http://zenscribbles.wordpress.com/) requested a few of her happy followers to answer some caffeinated questions if they wished. At the very mention of ‘coffee’ my mind was immediately made up, and before I knew it I had a late night cup of coffee in my hands and my fingers flying across the keyboard as I attempted to do justice to such interesting questions.

The questions that Miss. Zen Scribbles answered can be found at the following link: http://zenscribbles.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/would-you-like-coffee-with-your-sugar/

Thank you ma’am for allowing me the opportunity to take part!

Right, now, on with the questions!

1: How many cups of coffee per day do you drink?

Between two and three. On occasion I have begun my mornings with coffee, but I usually prefer a cold drink in the morning. I especially enjoy coffee at midday and night.

2: What is your favorite caffeine delivery system?

I will have to say that I would prefer to take my coffee orally. What? Not serious enough? Oh, alright…I prefer coffee in a cup – hot, black, often without sugar because that can sometimes dilute the flavor.
I was a huge Riva Coffee drinker, and I was incredibly disappointed two years ago to find that the product was no longer in vogue. I am down to my last bottle now. I have recently discovered a Colombian brand which is not bad, but I often find that many brands of coffee are quite disappointing because they fail to accurately capture the richness of the flavor. Coffee is meant to be a seductress that awakens you from your slumber – not an intolerable tall drink of water incapable of awakening your soul.

3: What was your best cup of coffee?

Hmmm…I don’t have one favorite, but three…
One: as previously mentioned, I love Riva, so any cup of Riva is a good choice.
Two: cappuccino in Watergradens Town Centre, outside Target – great little place I used to drink at there. Should return there some day.
Three: Ice Coffee recipe I conceived on my own, but I’m sure other people can come up with such a recipe:
Instructions:
-first off, find a tall glass – yes, glass. Not a cup. Reminds me of Lygon Street over in the city – they always use glasses rather than cups over there, and using a glass makes me feel like I am walking down the great restaurant based suburb.
-throw in four teaspoons of coffee and either an equal amount of sugar, or two spoons – user discretion
-fill a third of the glass with hot water – stir
-fill the next two quarters of the cup with milk – does not matter which variety, light, full cream, etc. Stir again.
-now, take out that container of vanilla ice cream from the fridge and throw a few spoons on top
-done!

4: What was your worst cup of coffee?

Easy – I experienced this particular brew in November. My boss at the time purchased me a coffee at Queen Victoria Market from a Turkish restaurant – WORST CUP OF COFFEE EVER! I did drink the entire thing though, but I did warn my fellow employees that the chance of me falling onto my back with my arms  and legs in the air was incredibly high. The sickly after taste of such an awful cup remained with me for an unbelievably long period of time after that. To make it worse, later that night I had a glass of the most sour wine imaginable.

5: What does your favorite mug say?

I have four: One has the image of a panting dog on the side. Another says ‘boss’. Another has the word ‘Gangst@’ written across the side. The last is an Easter based mug and has the words ‘some bunny loves you’ upon it.

6: How do you take your coffee?

I think I previously mentioned this – hot, black, and preferably from a well known and very reliable brand.

7: When did you have your first cup?

When I was eight. A girl I knew at the time said she enjoyed having tea, so I tried that, and the following week I had a go at coffee – instant attraction. There was never a love story quite like Naughty Nefarious and his coffee.

8: Have you ever gone on a coffee date?

On a few occasions actually. I have gone with family, friends and work colleagues. Some very pleasant conversations I have experienced over the past few years have been over coffee.

Now, I am going to tag a few people to undertake this quiz as well. Here goes…

http://allworldissues.com/

http://courtingmadness.wordpress.com/

http://ourconsciousness.wordpress.com/

http://prinsesamusang.wordpress.com/

http://stuffitellmysister.me/

If you wish to undertake the coffee quiz, then by all means. Additionally, if I didn’t tag you and you wish to take the quiz, I don’t see why you shouldn’t be able to do so…

Cheers!

4 comments on “As black as night & as sweet as true beauty

  1. I like your Ice Coffee recipe and I will definitely have to try it sometimes. But it seems like our tastes differ – while you take your coffee without sugar, I absolutely gag without it, haha.

  2. Pingback: Coffee Break: My Kind Of Coffee Quiz « Prinsesa's Anatomy

Leave a Reply

