Soon to be Extinct?…The Security Crisis Worsens…

 

One look at this title may be cause for some concern. Don’t worry…too much at least…the only one who need be frightened now is the one writing this piece…and anyone else suffering any like issues.

As this is officially my 50th post, like on my other blog I would have enjoyed to orchestrate a piece in which I thank all of those who have followed me thus far and wish them all the best. Maybe I can still do that…maybe I’ll take a rain check on that in exchange for what is bothering me so.

For the past two weeks, WordPress has been alerting me that I need to update my browser because mine is inevitably on the verge of expiring and will soon be rendered ‘out of date’. The issue? Well, this little crisis happened about a month ago and I updated my browser which was at the time Internet Explorer 8 with the new and improved Internet Explorer 9.

One would imagine that WordPress does not require such frequent updates.

However, this occasion seems to be worse than the last time this little issue began to bug me, and is no doubt going to get worse judging by the warnings that I keep receiving about aspects of my blog soon to be no longer visible.

I have already lost all of my notifications, my reader is dead, and I can no longer ‘comment’ on most of the blogs that I am following, and with that said, cannot provide others with my unbelievably intelligent words of wisdom (projectile vomits across room). (Yes, that last sentence was dripping with sarcasm).

On my dashboard, a nice red rectangle appears in the left hand corner that explains how I need to acquire an updated browser, else issues concerning security will most likely begin to manifest.

This is the case for both of the blogs that I have, not just one, which is perhaps why such is so disconcerting for me, since both are been plagued by the same ridiculous nonsense. Well, that’s my interpretation anyway.

I am unsure how these ‘security’ issues can arise since I do have Windows Firewall (which is on btw), I am equipped with Spyware Doctor to help remove any and all viruses that may attempt to invade my precious system, and I am equipped with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware which is supposed to find and remove, well, malware.

With that said, and additionally with everything telling me that I am virus and malware free, how can WordPress be so snippy about a possible infection or security threat? I can’t imagine how it could come from my computer. Might sound pretentious or egotistical, but really, I don’t, unless my WordPress blogs are infected somehow, but I don’t know how that could be.

I have tried looking at forums, and I found one that revolved around the exact same issue I am suffering from. Of course, there is always an addendum, isn’t there? The forum has been closed! The damsel in distress who had instigated the forum has apparently received the answer that she required judging by the message that was positioned beneath the location of her issue. Well, I’ll have you know, right now, I’m a dude in distress. Does that mean that I can acquire some assistance?

For such is really what I would appreciate acquiring now. I have looked high and low across the internet. I have sent tweets to WordPress help services. The only thing I have not done is call Microsoft, and until I can verify that it really is a Microsoft issue and not something to do with WordPress, I’m not certain I want to take such a step, for everything else is running flawlessly, with the exception of my blogs.

Additionally I do suppose I could acquire a new web browser from say Firefox, Mozilla, or another like service, but I would personally not want to take such drastic action either unless I have no other choice.

So, if anyone else is experiencing this issue, knows how to successfully navigate past this issue to secure a resolution or can help me in any other way or form, I would gladly appreciate the support. Thank you kindly.

Additionally, if anyone can supply any help, I may not be able to thank you immediately because, like I said, I can no longer comment on most blogs…which at times includes my own.

Thank you for reading!

Sincerely and with kind regards

Naughty Nefarious.

Leave a Reply

