Whoa, what a week!

 

There was one particular part of my week that changed; my computer that I primarily use for internet purposes. Yeah, it would seem that a ‘goodbye’ would be in order.

I have four computers at my house. One is quite old – I procured it back in 2008, and it still uses an old version of XP and has a very slow operating system. Now, this particular relic is located in the garage of all places, not because it belongs there, which I guess it kind of does, but predominately because it is still useable. My personal gym is located in the garage, and Windows Media Player is still fully functional on this computer, and that, along with the pretty awesome subwoofer’s I have attached to the computer make for some pretty good music playing capabilities. True, it ain’t as good as the surround sound stereo I have in the rumpus room where you can play music in one country and hear it clearly in another, but it still works all the same. No point in throwing out something that can still sufficiently do for you what you want it to – my view anyway.

The second computer is from 2009, and at the time, believe it or not, was the fastest system one could acquire. This computer can no longer play video games of today, which was probably blatantly obvious by the year this thing was produced. It is incredibly slow and half the time fails to do what you want it to. The internet is now out of date and the computer still utilises on XP system, so I cannot update it to Windows Explorer Nine cuz I don’t have Windows Seven. I can’t be bothered putting what is basically still a relatively new system onto an old computer just so that I can use the internet. This leads me to my laptop – a fine piece of machinery that I acquired at the conclusion of 2010, which has had some issues in regards to the internet in the past, but should now be hopefully working fine.

My other computer is one that I acquired at the start of 2011 which still is at the top of its game. Don’t ask me for the specs – never ask me for the specs. I have no idea what the monster has inside of her; all I know is that to this very day she is capable of giving the computer’s today a run for their money with the system that she runs with, being able to still play the games that come out with peek performance. The system is the kind that the gals and blokes over at MLN use, or used to at least since they are always up on the newest kind of tech to support their gamers. The computer uses a pretty massive if I must say so myself HD 3D TV as its monitor. The issue with this, and believe me, there is an issue, even with a gorgeous thing like this – is that everyone else wants to use it. I always wanted a giant monitor and a kick ass gaming system, and have separate PS3 and XBOX 360 consoles attached to this particular area of the house, so no matter what platform the game is on, I can play it and throw massive LAN parties there as well. That is the problem – I always wanted a giant system, and I not only got the system, but all of the crazies that come with it, my friends on frequent occasion coming over and having the time of their lives. Bunch of bums really – dunno why they can’t buy their own systems, then they wouldn’t have to not only keep me from using my computer but wouldn’t eat me outta house and home in the process.

So, with this said, the system I predominately use for the internet is the one bought back in 2009 – or was at least until every single social media site I am on, from Word Press to Facebook, et al, began to malfunction and not work as well as they used to cuz I did not have Windows Internet Explorer 9. So, the reason I have not commented on many of your pages, or liked many of your pages or even visited many of your pages over the past couple of days is not because I am a bad guy, well, maybe that, but the primary reason is because of my crappy internet connection. So I had to update my laptop and give that the internet, and the security that came with it, and the billions upon billions of downloads that it wanted from the (almost) two years I have had it to ensure it was up to friggin’ date before I could begin to use the internet (finally) to go back to my life on social media.

It’s funny – this time two years ago I had not a thing to do with social media. Okay, I had a Facebook page that I frequented about once every blue moon, but I had no connection to any other social media page and I quite enjoyed my life back then. Now, I have changed so dramatically, and am connected to a cool few sites, and I do not know how I would live my life today without some social media every now and then and all of the pretty awesome perks that come with it. I mean, reading the kinda stuff that you guys make – classic! Can’t find that anywhere else, and I thank you guys from the bottom of my heart for all the entertainment, comments, likes, follows and what have you that you have provided to me over the past few months.

Thanks guys!

So now that I have the internet working, again (!), hopefully I will be able to get my life back on track.

Thank you for reading!

Naughty Nefarious, signing off!

2 comments on “Whoa, what a week!

  1. I feel the same! I remember just about two years ago, I signed into Facebook about once every other month. Then I learned that I could do it on my phone (which was then not a smart phone) and did it more often. As soon as I could always do it, I felt like I always had to do it…and so it began. I can totally relate, and I’m glad that you got your internet access back 🙂

    • I know right? We as a species have grown so attached to technology that if it ever goes away, we are doomed. Just been away from the net for a few hours makes me feel doomed, so what might a few decades feel like? Don’t wanna think about it. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

