NBN – (un)Naturally Boring Numbskulls

 

The NBN – the National Broadband Network is what the government is attempting to roll out. Beginning by updating small towns in the middle of the Whoop Whoops with this new supposed high speed internet, this next generation advancement in internet technology is, according to the Prime Minister, going to put Australia on top for high speed internet. This, coming from the same Prime Minister who says Australia has the great economy in all the world, yet Brisbane is several billion dollars in dept? Interesting…Adjunctively, the PM may never get to see her project come to life, cuz if the PM gets kicked out in the next election, it may be cancelled by whoever takes office next. I mean, the NBN has been in the works since 2007, and less than what, 2,000 homes in a country of 25 million people have gained the ability to use this technology over the past five years? Billions of dollars have been poured into this project and those involved in its orchestration have complained and pulled out and new people have been called in. I guess some people doubt the PM’s ability to successfully integrate the software into the country. Of course, after the home isolation fiasco, can you blame ‘em? (for those non-Australians treading this, the ‘home insulation fiasco’ was a scheme instigated by the Prime Minister in which all insulation companies were given the ability to place new insulation into the homes of people. All these home with the new insulation in ‘em, subsequently burnt down due to shit insulation. That is the Australian government for you – ‘we care’ they say…yes, they care so much that they try to kill you in your sleep!) Supposedly by the year 2015, a cool 200,000 people will have the ability to use this high speed internet. I won’t probably be living in Oz by the time the entire country is fully up and running, and by then, the NBN will be so far out of date and the Americans will have an internet so far more advanced that the very mention of the NBN will bring about hysterics of laughter rather than plans for national domination.

Of course, the whole meaning of this post was to state my pros and cons on the subject matter of this technologically advanced system. Positively speaking about the software, my current internet, no offence, but it is pretty friggin’ pathetic. It cuts out frequently, and when that doesn’t happen it automatically shuts itself off, forcing me to sign back in. I have a contract with Optus – it’s a wireless dial up connection with a 5 Gigabyte plan with costs around 50 bucks per month. On top of these issues, the internet takes so damn long to load pages that I could have designed them personally by the time they have loaded, and the internet is so slow, that on occasion, if it managed to become any slower, I would be travelling back through time. I could argue that this occurs because the Optus tower where we pick our connection off from is also shared by Telstra. So, anyone on either of those two plans, using either the internet or their phones are bouncing around the same data port. Basically, there would be an awful lot of people trying to connect to friends, family and the internet at once. However, it would be worse if I was with one of the other companies. Virgin, 3, Vodafone, Chariot and Dodo all use the other tower. Imagine trying to get a connection with one of those companies in my neighborhood. You’d be lucky to even download a kilobyte before the internet died on yer due to the prioritising of other customers using more juice than you are. I should be glad I at least got piss poor internet service cuz the other companies might not offer me any service at all.

Basically, if and when the NBN ever comes into the works, it may very well be able to sufficiently boost the internet connection that I have to work with now. But since the PM ain’t prioritising major cities, towns or suburbs, and since like I said, I may not even be living in this country when the day the NBN is 100% turned on, I may never get to know how much of a success, or potential flop, the entire scheme is. For that, perhaps I should be glad. You see, on a negative side (apart from the fact I’ll be old and grey by the time the NBN is on), the government have stated (but governments, especially the Australian one always lie) that the NBN will change how everything works. If that is true, then that in itself kinda freaks me the hell out. I like the way things are running now without having them change. I mean, people of previous generations felt the development of mobile phone devices and portable music players and the like have been huge leaps forward in the advancement of technology. I never felt it was. Such came naturally to me, and that was probably because I was born in the time when technology is continuously changing at an incredibly rapid pace. However, what the NBN is emphasising, seems like a substantial leap forward, and if that ever comes to pass, then the older generations and I will have something in common.

I do not like the fact that those responsible for the NBN’s promulgation are stipulating how the project is going to alter life as we know it – how shopping, work and life in general are going to be dramatically changed with this technology. Now, they are yet to actually be specific about such generalisations, but what I have heard thus far seems pretty mind blowing. I look at my life and the way I live it, the way I work and the plans I have for the future and I base them on the technology today and the opportunities that are available to me. The way the NBN designers are talking – it sounds very much like the past is going to be terminated and a new future will be brought in and ultimately change everything that I believe. Now, I am all for an advancement in technology and I believe change can indeed be good – but the NBN is making it sound as though that change will be instantaneous – a bit like Skynet. Plug it in, and suddenly, everybody’s dead. That is what the NBN sounds like. Plug it in, and watch the world that you know vanish and a new one be erected before your very eyes.

I can only hope when and if the NBN does come, the change is more subtle. But like I already mentioned governments lie. Besides, most people in government office cannot tell the difference between Twitter and a toilet seat, so what the hell do they know about the NBN?

Looking towards the future and beyond, this is Naughty Nefarious, signing off once more.

Leave a Reply

