To have an internship or not to have an internship? Now that is one helluva serious question

 

I would never have assumed that my three year course at university would go by me so fast. It seems like yesterday that I was driving up to the university, and now I am but on the verge of driving away from it, and only seeing it once more in my rear view mirror. Of course, the journey is not yet over, and like with all journeys, there is always something that gets in the way. The vile antagonist in this case, if such a word could ever be used in this circumstance, is the mandatory internship that I am to gain in order to successfully pass this course unimpeded. As a person majoring in professional writing, I am to secure a place within an organisation that will allow me to do just that; write professionally. That however is not as easy a task as one might assume, or one that I might have once ignorantly believed.

I was under the distinct impression when I signed up for this course that the university would help me, along with all of the other students enrolled in the course gain said internship. Now, how exactly did I acquire such an idea, when the university now refuses to do such a thing? Oh, that’s right! They explicitly said so in the course outline! It is so amazing how the written word over time has apparently lost all meaning and now is as bitter and foul tasting as the lies people verbally convey to protect one another.

The university does every so often send out an e-mail of possible opportunities that are available to us, so I will give them credit on that count, but it is ultimately we who need to gain the internship. They may point us in an appropriate direction, but they do nothing more than that. A couple students and I talked about this on Friday the first of June, how we were all quite surprised at how we were the ones who acquired the job, not the university. Many said it was difficult because they had other commitments, including work outside of the necessary internship, university work and families that two of them had, such inevitably making the task more difficult to accomplish. They however had succeeded in gaining an internship. Me? Not so much I’m afraid.

I began to send out resumes back at the beginning of May, which just so funnily enough was when the university told us to start considering our placements. Those involved in the course next semester that will evolve around our internship theorised how we should consider local councils as possible venues to intern in. Well, I will say this; it is a great idea in theory, when you are talking about it from afar, but not so much in person when it comes to applying. There are three local councils in my area; one is yet to get back to me on my internship. One refuses to get back to me, even after all this time has passed (I sent mine on the third of May), and the other was no longer accepting when I submitted mine, which I find hilarious because I submitted my application the same day they announced their internship program. Curious indeed….

I additionally looked into other companies, however very few are looking for interns. We are told to look into organisations that evolve around our field of study, but I am quite surprised to find that most of these venues refuse to accept interns of any shape or size. They want people to fully commit to their organistaion for a good few years, not a good couple weeks.

Recently in the news there was talk that interns are especially hard done by when they attempt to apply for positions because there simply ain’t enough to go around. Many sectors are highly popular and there are only select places accepting interns, with those organisations only having a certain number of spots available. This is especially true for Sydney, where it was discussed that nurses in particular and other doctorial applicants are unable to intern because every available position has already been filled. I fear the same is happening down in Melbs, and I can only hope I fare a bit better.

The thing that is affecting me so I do believe is the experience. Now, don’t get me wrong, I have worked. When I was younger I worked as a child model for clothing companies, and when I was in my adolescent years I worked at Coles for a period of time. In all honesty however, I focused primarily on my studies than my work experience, believing that after completion of my university courses I will have all the time in the world to acquire a job. Unfortunately, it would seem that my ideas have come back to bite me in the arse, and I now find myself unwanted as an intern in the industry. Of course, if I am having trouble now, things aren’t going to get any easier when I go to complete my masters and find myself needing to acquire yet another internship. Especially since I was pondering about continuing on with my masters immediately after my three years of study were complete.

I will of course keep searching, and I have up until the end of October to gain an internship and complete it. Fifteen eight hour work days seemed simple in theory. Now, if I can acquire them – then I will be onto something.

Leave a Reply

