LOL?

It was only up until recently that I came to notice how ridiculously often the term ‘lol’ is used, especially by the fairer sex, and how infrequently the act of laughing out loud occurred in comparison. Ten years ago the term ‘lol’ was barely used, if ever. In fact, I would go so far to say that I never heard anyone use the term. But I recently also discovered I had spent half my life living under a rock, so I can’t really for the life of me say. What I can state however, is that now the term is used so frequently to the extent that it almost seems as though people in general have forgotten how to laugh out loud.

Now, I am certain that many people would argue against me on this, so allow me to retort to any and all who would say how wrong I am in my assertions. I am also certain that one could not argue that saying ‘lol’ is easier than laughing, or that it is perhaps more fun. By laughing you convey how hilarious what you are laughing at truly is, and if it is someone’ else’s joke, then this would please them, and if it was at someone’s expense, well, then that would at least please yourself.

I am quite disappointed that such is indeed occurring moreover. I prefer it when a woman laughs out loud rather than using such terminology to describe the act. It’s reflective of someone saying ‘that’s funny’ after somebody tells a joke rather than laughing politely. For when a woman laughs, she appears more incredibly beautiful than she ever did before. A woman’s eyes grow brighter and her face lights up like the roaring sun iteslf as the immense happiness of the act engulfs her. Everyone else is apparently absent from the room when this occurs, all eyes being drawn towards this unbelievable sight.

Now, by saying ‘lol’ all that beauty that was once developed is all but gone. If a woman was quite, well, ‘bouncy’, for lack of a better word,  it was often great to make her laugh because then she might ‘bounce’ some more. However, ‘lol’ does not involve bouncing of any kind, so what once was, is now lost. In my view, perhaps everyone should stop telling jokes in general if in the future ‘lol’ is going to be the only thing pouring out from the mouths of the general public.

The problem here is that when a new ‘fad’ comes along, a great majority of the public begin to utilise it. ‘Lol’ is the new fad I speak of, and, like all fads, is being used by all. I only hope, again like all fads, that it eventually burns itself out so that I could perhaps hear a woman laugh once more before I kick off.

This is of course and as always, just my opinion.

Now, if you don’t mind me, I’m going to go and try to make a young beauty laugh. I know, a very difficult chore, but I feel it is one that must be done all the same.

Leave a comment